CMA Structure

The CMA is a Community Interest Company limited by guarantee and is run on a non profit-making basis. Our Articles of Association govern the organisation’s administration.  We are organised regionally, overseen by the Association’s Board of Directors. The Board is assisted in managing the Association by a National Committee (made up of Directors, Regional Co-ordinators, an International Ranger Advisor, and a National Trust representative) and by a paid Admin Support Contractor.

Some of the more active regions, such as the South West, have their own committee structure with county reps, a newsletter editor and a regional training co-ordinator.

With the exception of the Admin Support Contractor and the Editor of Ranger Magazine, the CMA is run on a voluntary basis by members, for members.

The current regional breakdown is as follows:

  • East Midlands: Derbyshire, Leicestershire, Rutland, Northamptonshire, Nottinghamshire and Lincolnshire,
  • East of England: Essex, Hertfordshire, Bedfordshire, Cambridgeshire, Norfolk and Suffolk.
  • Greater London: City of London and the 32 London boroughs
  • North East England: Northumberland, County Durham, Cleveland and Tyne and Wear
  • North West England: Cumbria, Lancashire, Greater Manchester, Merseyside and Cheshire.
  • South East England: Berkshire, Buckinghamshire, East Sussex, Hampshire, Isle of Wight, Kent, Oxfordshire, Surrey and West Sussex
  • South West England: Gloucestershire, Dorset, Somerset, Wiltshire, Devon, Cornwall and the Isles of Scilly, Jersey and Guernsey
  • West Midlands: Herefordshire, Shropshire, Staffordshire, Warwickshire and Worcestershire and West Midlands
  • Yorkshire and Humber: Yorkshire and East Riding
  • Wales
  • Northern Ireland

Scotland has its own equivalent association – the Scottish Countryside Ranger Association (SCRA).